Tuesday, 28 February 2017

Beat The Blues Boogie - BTBB 2017

NEW - Boogie race update - Updated March 8, 2017
Due to cold weather start times have been pushed back one hour to allow more time for the cool evening temperatures to warm up in the morning. Times (in red) below have been updated.

NEW - Boogie weather update - Updated March 10, 2017
Bunch of new snow on Saturday
Sunday morning low: -17
Sunday race time: -15
Sunday afternoon high: -11

NEW - Boogie waxing update - TBA

Race Informtion
Gear up for the 2017 Fast Trax "Beat the Blues Boogie Loppet" on Sunday March 12, hosted by the Strathcona Wilderness Centre.

The tradition continues with this year’s edition of the "Beat The Blues Boogie", raising funds in the name of Roger Tetrault, with all entry fees donated to the Alberta Cancer Foundation. 

This is a fun race to keep up the spirit of the season; the event is free technique, with a classic track for the sit skis and little striders.

We will also have a number of suppliers out setting up tents in front of the SWC Skiers Lounge to demo products.

Supplier Tent City - 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
  • Salomon with Phil Villeneuve - Skin demos - Not Attending due to mechanical issues
  • Madshus with Mike Cavaliere - IGS demos
  • Fischer with Geoff Thornell - TwinSkin demos + the new TURNamic binding system
  • Swix with Geoff Thornell - New Swix klister demos
  • Master Wax with Keegan Brooks - Glide wax application with donation
  • Fast Trax Pro Team with Paul & Patrick Moore - Structure application with donation
    • Paul & Patrick are fresh back from the World Championships with stories & tips!
*Pre race structure and glide wax starts at 10:00 a.m. and runs to 10:45 a.m. with a $5 donation to Cancer Research and is first come first serve.

Supplier Tent City

Race Distances
  • 2 km Free Technique, 1 x 2 km loop: Jackrabbit / Bunny Boys & Girls
  • 4 km Para 2 x 2 km loop: Sit Ski Sport, Para Standing
  • 4 km Skate 1 x 4 km loop:  Youth Boys & Girls, Para Standing, Sit Ski Open
  • 8 km Skate  2 x 8 km loop:  Junior & Open Men & Women, Para Standing, Sit Ski Open
  • 16 km Skate  4 x 4 km loop: Open Men & Women
  • 24 km Skate  6 x 4 km loop: Open Men & Women

The racing has begun!

Race Categories*
  • Open Men - 20 and over
  • Open Women - 20 and over
  • Sit Ski Open - any age, LW 10-12 class
  • Para Standing – any age, LW2-9 and B1-3 class
  • Junior Men - 16 to 19
  • Junior Women - 16 to 19
  • Youth Boys - 15 and under
  • Youth Girls - 15 and under
  • Jackrabbits / Bunnies - 11 and under
*Youth, Junior and older Jackrabbits may register up categories

Start Time
  • 10 a.m. bib pick up @ SWC Skiers Lounge
  • 10:55 a.m. race briefing at start line
  • 11 a.m. race start
  • Wave start by distance
  • Start area is on Fox trail below the Meadow grid, across from the Information Centre

Aid Station
We will have a aid station set up at the start finish area with the following items;
  • Water
  • Gatorade
  • Fruit
  • Liquorice 

Post-Race BBQ
Smokies will be available from 1-2:00 p.m. out front of the SWC Skiers Lounge
  • Free smokie's and coke with race number
  • There will be a veggie hot dog and fruit juice option as well
  • There will be extra for friends and family who do not race

Awards will commence out front of the SWC Skiers lounge at the completion of the 24 km event at approximately 2:00 p.m.

Loads of swag!

Entry Fee
  • $20 for Junior and Open
  • $10 for Youth and Jackrabbits
  • All proceeds donated to cancer research

Course Maps
2km Course

4km Course

Race registration is now closed.
  • Register on-line on Zone 4 ~ Race Registration Now Closed
  • Registration ends at midnight on March 10. 
  • On-line entries only please, no race day entries.
The Wonderful Volunteers and Organizers
  • Tristan Oluper
  • Rob McKinley
  • Mike Neary
  • Lee Speed
  • Solange Dickinson
  • Mike Dickinson
  • Evelyn Henke
  • Cam Toner
  • Freya Hik
  • Bjorn Taylor
  • Kim Mazer
  • Patrick Moore
  • Paul Moore
  • Shauna Blackburn
  • Sean Rickard
  • Cameron McGregor
  • Lynne Chisholm
  • Denise Schmigelski
  • Dawn Kowal